Fake “Flash” Update

Today i came across a pop up which was looking like a “genuine flash update” but just after few seconds i have realized the pop up was basically aiming to get their Trojan installed in my PC :). ( which I did for testing, the results will be in one of my new posts , keep an eye in my blog)

I am sure they are many end users they will just fall in to this trick, and that’s why i wanted to write a small article to warn everybody ! I am comparing the “fake flash “ update with the real “Adobe flash” which will help some of you to be safer online…

Points to double check!  fake site vs the real site, to show you the “danger” clearly

 

1) URL, if you look carefully you will easily see that the URL is fake

image

real Adobe Flash Update website

SNAGHTML9f10522

 

2) Check the company logo’s and basic copy right items

fake

image 

image

real

image

image

image

FAKE

image

Real

image

image

image

Comments (2) -

mohs
mohs
3/8/2013 7:35:58 AM #

strange !!

MEHMET YILDIRIM
MEHMET YILDIRIM
3/11/2013 4:10:32 PM #

Hi IT Professionals,

It is definately DNS Spoofing attack no doubt.The Attacker has access to adobe site's private network.With that privileges he can spoof dns name
for example : get.adobe.com to update91.com/flashplayer...  

with that way your dns will be redirected to fake dns. Easy Part... but the question is how the hell the attacker get in to adobe.com web server's network, the hardest part... ? ;)

Add comment

  Country flag

biuquote
  • Comment
  • Preview
Loading